Electronic Drum Sets

Buck62

噛んでくれ
Does anybody here use a Roland, Yamaha, or Alesis electronic drum set?
I like the sound of my old acoustic kit, but it sure would be nice to have all those different kit sounds and to be able to record directly in, instead of micing.
Then I would'nt have to shut off the furnace and tell the wife to stop walking around upstairs.
I'm wondering how reliable and versatile these electronic sets are, and if they break or have too many technical problems for use in recording.
I'm strongly considering purchasing one in the near future, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I own a Roland V-Drums Pro set. I think that those are kick ass for recording. You can choose between different mics, mic positioning, ambience, effects, rooms, compression, and a hell of a lot more. You can get any sound out of them.

I am actually selling my set because I just built a studio in my house and sound proofed everything. I am a drummer, and just like the feel of real drums. That is the only drawback to the electronic drums, although the v-pads are the closet thing to drum heads in the electronic sets. I guess I don't play really funky stuff so I really can't justify keeping them when I don't use all the features, just the basics. I record vocals, guitars, bass, and drums, that is about it.

If you are interested in them just shoot me a line at:

copper96@netnet.net

- Jason Vorpahl

I have the V-Drums Pro, and agree with copper96 on the recording aspects of them. Except for the hi-hat I love the feel of the V-Drums after playing on them for a year. I've gotten so used to them that it feels strange at first when on a rare occasion I go back to playing my real kit. The v-pads are definitely better than any other electonic drums I've ever played. I've also played live with them, and they are very easy to transport and setup/teardown.