Why is my raw audio tracks recorded from virtual instruments do not sound as good as the STEM raw tracks provided by my instructor for practice?

jerberson12

mucis procedure
Why is my raw audio tracks recorded from virtual instruments do not sound as good as the STEM raw tracks provided by my instructor for practice? Those STEM raw tracks already kinda sound good without plugins and all it needs is a little bit of processing. My recorded tracks from virtual instruments kinda sounds like really really really really dry and if I apply the techniques learnt from mixing, it still sounds bad compare to the STEM audio tracks provided for practice. I have been noticing this for the past 3 years. Seems to be there is that missing link or something that I need to do before mixing tracks.

Those "raw" tracks that was given to me by my instructor to practice seems to be rendered differently. Even without processing, those sound is already bright and lively. Any ideas?

Last edited:
Well - 'virtual instruments' and 'STEM raw tracks' are terms that have no natural quality element attached. I'm thinking in this case, the tracks provided by your teacher might be real instruments, or good samples played by a good musician, recorded musically. Are you comparing this to virtual instruments that are played unmusically, recorded unmusically, and then loaded with treatment?

In the past I have replaced a viola in a string quartet (with a VERY good and competent 1st vioinist), because the viola was played badly and it stood out. I replaced it with a matching sample - A Spitfire one - that was recorded in a similar space. It matched so well that the 1st violinist sent me a message saying her playing wasn't as bad as I'd described - and he was happy with the result. I then sent him what I'd removed.