This is my Digital Hell: Where did I go wrong??

Trippalot

Hello. To anyone who wants to post a reply: I just took out a loan about six months ago for thousands of dollars worth of equipment including a PC, Roland VS880 digital recorder, blah blah blah blah. It is now two weeks before my demos are due and the only thing that's been eating up my time is "this is not compatable", "that is not compatable", "you need another sound card", "your sample rates don't match", "what about your bit depth ratio", etc. . . In other words, I spent all this cash on all this equipment and have hardly any music tracks laid down because of all the technical bullshit. All I want to do is have some good overall tracks to burn to a CD on a PCfor some demos. So where did I go wrong??? Should I have gone analog???

I'm an "Digitanalog" man myself.
I record mostly to 2 Adats and burn to c/d.
My computer is loaded with Cakewalk Pro 9
of which i barely use (as I'm still learning
'bout PC based recording and CWPro9).I have done some half-ass decent recordings using
Cool Edit and other free downloads but sometimes I forsake the use of the PC to
just to be able to mix some tracks with my
"Anal-gear".But I am continuing my education with PC based recording and hopefully by
summer's-end I should have enuff' knowledge to use my PC. I have a belief that it's good to know both worlds!

Yeah skweeks,but they use tape!
Which is why I am a participant of the
"Digitanalog World"

[This message has been edited by MISTERQCUE (edited 08-01-2000).]

The computer recording chaos that you describe, is why I suggested this topic for the BBS. I am not opposed to digital...I have a hard disk recorder and an ADAT..Both digital.
It is my oppinion that the learning curve for computer recording is too steep.... mabye someday the manufacturers will get it together and make "plug and play" a reality!

My suggestion is to use your Roland to get the best demo that you can...Forget the computer... use it for email!