MDM-X4 Won't Play MD DATA Discs

Cleo3

Hi, I'm new to this BBS, but have been reading several threads on MDM-X4 issues. My MDM-X4 (original version), stops randomly during record and playback in 4-track (or any system mode) on MD DATA (140MB) discs ONLY, and ejects if/when it decides to. Play button keeps blinking sometimes and never plays. If I'm lucky, it records about 3 mins, then just stops. Often won't record - record button stays lit instead of flashing, and goes off when I push Play. Playback stops after 2 to 6 secs for a while, then plays several secs, stops, etc...sometimes never finishes.

After trying new Sony and TDK MD DATA disks, and MD lens & head cleaner disks, no improvement. Purchased/installed the updated EPROM ver. 1.3, but the problem got even worse. I'm returning it and ordering another. I partially disassembled, inspected and cleaned the MD drive...still no improvement. System is set for 4-track.

Oddly enough, it records and plays 2-track minidiscs perfectly, even overdubbing, etc. When I insert the (2track) disc, the record/play head stays steady. When inserting the MD DATA disc, the record head "hunts", moving back and forth several times, then stops, then starts hunting again. I'm really ticked. I bought it new in '98 (?), used it briefly back then, <48 hours, then recently fired it up and had these problems. Any suggestions would be greated appreciated. Thanks.

Hi JJones. Good question. It's possible. I took the MD drive apart and re-assembled, but have the same problem. The drive record/play arm is fixed to a post and whole assembly slides along a bar, driven, I guess, by microcontroller. The range of lateral movement seems to be OK since it works fine on 2 track, but there could be other possible adjustments that I'm not familiar with. Thanks for your quick reply!