Yamaha MD-8 Help Please

TN-MO

I just purchased a MD-8 multi-track recorder and I am having touble recording. I am trying to record mic and studio trax using the dir method. Everything seems to be in order until I stop the recording. When I push the last rec. in and then play nothing happens. I have tried push toc before I try to play it back but it doesn't help. The play buttton flashes and that's about it. I can insert a pre-recorded mini and it plays fine. I am new to this piece of equipment and need advise desprately.

i've never had trouble with the last rec in feature...it should just bring you back to the first of the recording...but as an alternative to that you can try just pressing the track selection button...like you are going to another track...i know when i hit STOP after recording..i just hit the back button and it brings me to the first of the song...then hit play...also make sure you push the little button below your gain(mic/line) before you play what you've recorded...hope this helps...i'm a bit of a newb too though...

Jordan

Thanks for the reply. It is not actually the last record in that is the problem. No matter what method I use to return to start of the track, it will not play. If I put in a disc that I recorded on my portable md it plays fine. I am afraid that there is a problem with the record mechanism, but I was hoping it was my mistake.

right but again had the same problem the first time i used my md8...it was only when i had the 'mic/line' buttion down while recording and up while listening that it worked try that...if mic/line is up while recording then it won't work...also if its NOT up during playback then you won't hear it...but its there...

hope that helps

Jordan

Thanks for the reply, Tried it but still can't make it work. What position does the group assign buttons need to be in?