Yamaha MD4 Error 04 NEED HELP!

cjl71178

Hello,

This is my first time on homerecording.com and I have a problem. Yesterday, I pulled out my Yamaha MD4 for the first time in a while because I wanted to check out some old songs I had started working on. When I inserted one of the minidiscs, it made a funny noise and the screen read "ERROR 04". Now the disc will not eject. I've hardly used this unit, so I double checked my MD4 manual and it said to contact Yamaha. I called them, described the problem to technical service and the guy pretty much just told me that I had to send it to them for repair.

I came across this forum today and after surfing around I found someone that posted the Yamaha MD error codes. ERROR 04 means that "The magnetic head didn't raise off of the disc". What does this mean?

Can anyone help me out??? Is there a simple solution to this, or do I need to send it back to Yamaha? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Yo CJ:

I used to use the MD8, just 4 more tracks; same type of operation.

I had it shut off for a while as I hooked up a new recorder.

I thought, one day, I'd turn it on and mess around with some tracks and the darn thing locked up on me.

I messed with it, turning it off and on a few times, pushing buttons and FINALLY, it opened up. I did not use force or a screwdriver--but, I was gently trying to help the box open up. It did.

Now, it's in my storage area as I'm working with the Yam 2816. If you fool with it, it might open up. Otherwise, you'll have to take it or send it to Yamaha or an authorized tech/vendor.

Green Hornet :D

I posted the error codes.

My best guess would be that the minidisc misloaded and got jammed,... probably with the little shutter door unopened,... and therefore is flagging to the mechanism any number of "head" related errors.

It's a tough call, but if you can somehow remove the disc,... you might find it reloads again with no problem. Minidisc load mechanisms can be funny that way.